He is Risen

HAPPY EASTER!

He is Risen! And the Questions are finished!

He is Not HereThe ultimate question has always related to eternity. What lies beyond death? For millennia, people have grappled with the fear of death, and the question of what lies beyond it.

Some of the ancient Jewish philosophers concluded that death transitions us to a place of ongoing existence, but they had no vision for it or clarity about it. They concluded every living thing (every person; every animal) shares a common place with neither reward nor punishment; just existence.

Some of the ancient Greek philosophers speculated about the immortality of the soul. They concluded that at death we finally shake off our corrupt flesh, and our souls get liberated. The dead finally, and thankfully, escape the material world.

But today, Easter Sunday, provides the ultimate answer to the ultimate question. The resurrection of Jesus cuts through the fog of uncertainty and the speculation of philosophy.

Death is not victorious. Eternity is not nebulous. Christ has conquered the grave and claimed His people for all time.

Death is not the final word, but a transitional one. The grave cannot confine us. The earth cannot restrain us. We will rise again. And all of us who have named Christ as Lord live with this certainty.

We will not float, drift, or merely exist. Rather, we enter eternity with bodily form, with consciousness, and with purpose. Paradise awaits the people of God. Heaven lies just moments from us. Joy inexpressible and fully of glory!

Jesus has answered the ultimate question of our existence. His resurrection assures our own.

Thanks for sharing this Lenten and Easter Journey with me. May this glorious Resurrection Day quicken your spirit, encourage your heart, and shore up your soul. We honor Christ, and look to Him again with gratitude and eternal hope.

This entry was posted in 40 Days, Easter, Jesus Questions, Lent, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to He is Risen

  1. eric4drp says:

    Thank you for sharing your posts with me again this Lenten season. I always appreciate your words, thoughts & encouragement you put into each post. They constantly speak life to me, as well as challenge me at the same time.

    I pray you & your family are doing well Dr. Timms. Have a great resurrection Sunday!

    Eric Sanford c. 928.710.8354

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Jerry Heetland says:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful and enlightening lenten series of messages. You have helped open our eyes to see Jesus more clearly.

  3. Judi says:

    Thank you for another soul searching and Christ seeking Lenten journey. I pray the blessings that began these past weeks will continue to bring us all closer to the Lover of our souls.

  4. Anna Terry says:

    He is risen indeed! Alleluia!

  5. ianrobbo says:

    Hi David,

    Although you and I have never met, I feel I know you well through your Mum And Dad – who are new friends of mine here in Pineview Village.

    I just want to say how VERY much I have enjoyed – and sincerely appreciated – your Daily posts on “Jesus’ Questions” during Lent. I found each article to be engaging, challenging, and truly insightful! Thank you for making the time available (from a very busy schedule!) to reach out to us in this way. You have added much to my understanding.

    I mentioned to your Dad last week that I would miss not having these posts to read each day… and he said you have another blog that you send to interested people on a regular basis. With this information at hand, I wonder if it might be possible for my name to be added your mailing list? I would be most grateful if this could be done… and it goes without saying that I would be privileged to read your material!

    Thank you again for your wonderful work. I am most humbled by it.

    With every blessing,

    Ian Robinson
    143/48 Ashley Rd
    Tapping 6065
    Western Australia
    +61 (0)3 9404 8434
    ianrobbo@iprimus.com.au

    • David Timms says:

      Hi Ian, I am genuinely touched by your kindness. Thanks for receiving these blog posts and joining this online community. I am planning, Lord willing, to start a new series here titled “Comments on Colossians.” The other blog I post to periodically is titled “On Ramp.” It’s a blog on leadership topics. You can find it easily by clicking here. Blessings! — David

  6. John York says:

    Dear David,

    Thank you for your Lenten studies. We have both appreciated the content and the challenge and send our Easter greetings to you and Kim and family. Linda and Ian are looking forward to seeing you later in the year.

    God bless you all and thanks for your continuing fellowship,

    John and Helen

    • David Timms says:

      John and Helen, you come to mind regularly when I talk with people about mentors. Thanks for your investment in my life. We’re looking forward to seeing Linda and Ian when they come over! Blessings.

  7. Jason Nate says:

    Dr Timms, thank you for sharing these words with us over the Lenten season. My daughter and I read them every night as a devotional and were moved by your words. Thank you! Blessings!

    • David Timms says:

      Jason, how lovely to hear from you. I hope you’re doing well. And what a great way to use these simple words to perhaps open up deeper conversations with your daughter! Blessings. — David

Leave a Reply

