40 Days in Mark’s Gospel – Day 9

Mark 4:3-20  The Parable of the Sower

The Parable of the Sower helps and disturbs me at the same time.

In the parable, Jesus identifies three groups of people who hear the word of God. First, there are those who hear it with enthusiasm, jump on board, then just as quickly fall away because they have no deep roots. Second, there are those who say yes to the word, but Sowertheir desire and fruitfulness for God gets choked out by worries, the pursuit of wealth, or desire for other things. Finally, there are those who receive the word of God, let it take deep root in their lives, and go on to be productive at different levels; some a little, some moderately, some greatly.

On the positive, the parable helps me understand other people. Not everyone will thrive in their faith.

Some folk will be a flash-in-the-pan. They’ll start with fire, but their roots do not go deeply enough to sustain them for the long haul. Other folk will constantly struggle with the worries of the world. They simply can’t, don’t, or won’t trust what the Word of God declares. And then there are those folk who stay in the Word, and the Word abides in them, and even they will yield at different levels; some thirty-fold, some sixty-fold, and others a hundred-fold.

We all respond differently to the Word, and we all have different capacities even with the Word. Perhaps it’s cold comfort, but the parable helps us not be so surprised by others. But I’m challenged by a single question: Which category best describes me?

The issue is not productivity or passion but how deeply I get into the Word and remain in the Word. The common thread throughout the parable is the role of the Word of God within us all.

Did I start with a bang, and am finishing with a whimper? Did I grow a little, but basically let my other interests crowd the Word out of my life? Or am I deeply in the Word (and the Word deeply in me) allowing God to produce what He likes through me?

The parable presumes a mystery; the mysterious power of God through His Word in the lives of His people. Where do you fit in the parable? It’s certainly not too late, nor too hard, to adjust categories.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 40 Days in Mark’s Gospel – Day 9

  1. heide costa says:

    Amen, my brother in Christ!

  2. Jana says:

    My question is HOW do we let go and let God? How do we push aside worries in life and abide fully in Christ?

    • David Timms says:

      Jana, that is indeed the $1 million question. Might the clue be found in the parable itself? As we abide more in the Word and it abides more in us, so we abide more deeply in Christ, and “the things of earth will grow strangely dim, in the light of His glory and grace.” Of course, it’s not just reading the Bible, but praying it, meditating upon it, memorizing it that weaves it into our souls. Just thinking out loud with you. 🙂

  3. Scott says:

    I just read an article about an American Agave plant that lived until it was 80, flowered at that time for the first time and produced “tons” of seeds and then died. Maybe that’s me. Maybe when I’m 80 just before I die I’ll kick out tons of seeds. 🙂

    On the other hand, I like to read the parable as not producing different levels of seeds 30,60 or 100, but rather when i produce 30 seeds, those will double and then triple, and God credits the multiplication of the harvest back to the first seed.

Leave a Reply

