40 Days in the Psalms – Day 34

Ps 145 – “GOD is good to one and all; everything He does is suffused with grace.”

Everything suffused with grace. I love the image. It connects with a phrase in Romans 5:2 that has recently become a favorite of mine. The Apostle Paul writes of “this grace in which we stand.”

I picture wading out into a river. As I continue to walk, the water grows deeper. It surrounds me. It laps up to me. The farther I walk, the more it envelopes me. It’s a metaphor of our spiritual Journey.

WadingI used to think of grace as simply a “salvation-thing.” God’s grace meant He saved me. He generously invited me into His family and His Kingdom. Grace pretty much stopped there. But grace is far larger, far richer, and far more comprehensive.

Grace is undeserved favor; unsolicited blessing; unrequested generosity; unexpected provision.

I stand in His grace when I wake in the morning and can put my feet on the ground, when I sit at the breakfast table and have food to eat, when I arrive safely at my workplace, when I get to laugh, when I get to run, when my family just “hangs out” and basks in the joy of togetherness, when I can purchase something or pay a bill, when I get needed medication.

Grace. Grace. Grace.

Everything is suffused with grace. Immersed in it. Soaked in it.

I deserve judgment. Nothing about my life even begins to approximate “conformity to the image of His Son” (Romans 8:29), yet His grace surrounds me, washes over me, pours into me. May we burst forth with gratitude today as we seek it, see it, and ponder it.

Breath Prayer for Today: “Your grace is sufficient, Lord.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 40 Days in the Psalms – Day 34

  1. Deborah says:

    Absolutely beautiful post on grace, David. Thank you so much. And thank you for your commitment to the journey with us all over these past weeks of Lent. I’ve gotten so much from your posts and presence with us. Thank you.

  2. Timothy Ross says:

    Soaked in His grace. We are indeed soaked through and through in His grace. How good is God to us? He is good beyond compare.

  3. Janet says:

    Thank you David, this is a beautiful reminder of the heart of our Father. Also, as Deborah says, thank you for your time and energy put into these thoughts, you and they are gifts of Gods grace to us too.

Leave a Reply

