40 Days in the Psalms – Day 23

Ps 105 – “Keep your eyes open for God, watch for his works; be alert for signs of his presence.”

My alert-o-meter tends to function poorly. It might be a “man thing.” I don’t know.

Over the years I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve been told, “I’m not asking you to fix it. I’m just asking you to listen.” I oftentimes fail to read what is really happening in someone’s life as they share with me. I see what is happening on the surface, and jump straight into action, completely unaware of what is happening beneath the surface.

I’m not trying to be insensitive or unthoughtful. I just jump into gear too quickly.

AlertThis social habit has its spiritual corollary. My poor emotional “eyesight” is matched only by my poor spiritual “eyesight.” And the way to 20/20 vision surely includes a slower pace, more attentive listening, and plenty of practice.

The Psalmist urges us to keep our eyes open for God and to be alert to signs of His Presence. Let’s practice that a little more diligently in this fourth week of Lent.

Wouldn’t we love to have the vision of Elisha who looked out his front door and saw the angelic armies of God protecting him, while his servant saw only the feared Aramean forces encircling the home (2 Kings 6:16-18)? The servant saw the simple circumstances; Elisha discerned the spiritual reality.

Let’s pray for eyes to see and hears to hear what the Lord is doing in us, around us, and through us today. Surely this is the essence of walking by the Spirit.

Where might Jesus want to send us this week? And what might He want to do in us and through us? Let’s keep our eyes open for God; follow His footsteps and His voice.

Breath Prayer for Today: “Lead me, Jesus.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 40 Days in the Psalms – Day 23

  1. Bob Basile says:

    Brother the lent series has been a blessing. Thank you. I am particularly in the same court as you today. I find that I am a bit impulsive in my “fix-it” meter. Early in our discussions with other God reveals a remedy in His Word. In our haste, we blurt out the solution, prior to letting the repenting be complete. We too are works in progress, ergo the beauty of sanctification.

Leave a Reply

