40 Days in the Psalms – Day 14

Ps 62 – “He’s breathing room for my soul.”

I don’t have a problem with claustrophobia, but my soul does.

Cu-Chi-TunnelsYears ago I read The Tunnels of Cu Chi, a story about the 150+ miles of tiny tunnels built by the Vietnamese during the Vietnam War — narrow, labyrinthine tunnels that brought that war to a stalemate. The stories of tunnels winding deep underground and barely wide enough for a Westerner’s shoulders to fit through, left me gasping for breath.

Physical claustrophobia quickens our heart-rate, raises our body temperature, and causes panic in our minds.

Spiritual claustrophobia proves far more subtle but no less impactful.

Sin constricts my inner life. Fear shrinks it. Anxiety squeezes it. Guilt crowds it. Shame crushes it. And despite the smile on my face and the “I’m fine” that I tell everyone, my spiritual pulse is racing.

The Psalmist understood some of this, I’m sure. And his words provide a window of relief to any of us who have felt spiritually stifled. “GOD is breathing room for my soul.”

We first think God is the reason for our dryness; the cause of our spiritual languishing. But He is, in fact, the solution to our longing. It’s not that He provides breathing space or points the way to us. He is the breathing space. He is the way. His Presence is our sustenance.

Today, let’s not seek His blessing. Let’s seek Him. Let’s not desire answers to our questions. Instead, let’s simply embrace the One who calls us to Himself. Come.

Breath Prayer for Today:  “Your Presence is enough.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 40 Days in the Psalms – Day 14

  1. Cheri Cancelliere says:

    Amen! He is the Lord who is more than enough!

Leave a Reply

