Lent: Day 33

The great of the kingdom have been those who loved God more than others did.”
– A. W. Tozer

Tozer’s statement confounds us.

The great in our eyes typically have leadership prowess, speaking skills, or ebullient personality. They are the powerful, the famous, and the successful. They lead large churches (or organizations), speak at conferences, and write books. They have wealth, status, and influence.

Loving God

Sometimes when we think of greatness we think of service. People who devote themselves sacrificially to ministry—giving their lives, and perhaps even placing their families on the altar—to serve others.

But Tozer, with a single sentence, challenges us to think again.

My life has crossed paths with many competent individuals. I’ve met outstanding preachers, served alongside remarkable professors, and watched impressive leaders up close and personal. But when I consider the men and women who have bridged the gap from my head to my heart, whose very presence has pierced me deeply and transformed me richly, it is those men and women who have “loved God more than others did.” And the world barely knows their names.

Lent is about loving God.

Will we love Him more at the end of this season than we did at the beginning? Have we moved past grim determination or possible resentment in our fast, and found the seeds of love? Have we missed the mark if we have longed to change the world more than love God?

The great in the kingdom are not the clever or competent ones, but those who love Christ most. Let’s love Him more today.

Lord Jesus, I declare afresh my love for you. Teach me to love you more, and more fully. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lent: Day 33

  1. Deborah says:

    Thank you for the fantastic post, David. The entire Lenten series you’ve offered your readers is a true gift, thank you. I look forward to it daily. This post particularly touched me and I appreciate the time, care and attention you are giving to our Lenten journey.

Leave a Reply

