Lent: Day 8

A.W. Tozer, a powerful and prophetic voice of the 20th century, frequently called Christians to “a mighty longing after God.” On one occasion he wrote: “Acute desire must be present or there will be no manifestation of Christ to His people. He waits to be wanted.” (The Pursuit of God: 17)

A.W. Tozer

Here we stand, a week into Lent—our eighth day of fasting. How acute is our desire? Not for that from which we are fasting, but for Christ Himself?

People pray for revival all the time—that our culture may turn again to Christ, that the Church might again know the power and Presence of God, that our families might experience renewal and restoration. But such revival begins not with a cultural shaking but a personal one.

Revival stands afar until we hunger for Christ with the same yearning that Moses hungered to see the glory of God (Exodus 33:18). Our hearts will remain unmoved until we embrace the earnest plea of Phillip who longed to “see the Father, and it will be enough” (John 14:8). Little will change until we long to know Christ with the same intensity and devotion as Paul (Philippians 3:8-11).

Lent provides the glorious opportunity to nurture our spiritual hunger. It cuts across the grain. Normally we would seek to satisfy hunger, not build it. But a fully satisfied spiritual life provides no satisfaction at all. It denotes a life yielded to mediocrity, to the known, and to the safe. Christ calls us to something higher and greater.

May the longing of the body during Lent pale in comparison with the longing of our souls.

Lord Jesus, I want You. I long to know You, to gain You, to be found in You. Create within me an insatiable thirst to experience Your Presence today. Disrupt my comfort and draw me into a deeper place with You. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lent: Day 8

  1. Judi M says:

    If I didn’t know the grace and blessings of God the way I do, I’d be afraid to add my amen to that prayer! Thanks David, for leading us into the request for spiritual blessings so vital to us all, yet so dangerously unrecognized.

  2. Heidi Matson says:

    Thank you so much! Great. Heidi

    Heidi Matson, MS MFT

  3. Christine Bailey says:

    I have been blessed and challenged through this series David. I love The Lord with heart, soul and every part of me wants to be faithful to his call and blessing on my life. I want to sing a new song to him everyday of thanksgiving for his grace and mercy towards us.

    • David Timms says:

      Chris, your fervor is infectious. Don’t know that I can sing; but I’ll try and write. 🙂

      • Christine Bailey says:

        Hey, you can write! Whatever our gift, we are to use it for his glory and to bless and encourage others and praise God, no age limit on that one :-). I am going to Israel in November to walk where Jesus walked. Singing for joy about that one.

Leave a Reply

