Check Your Speed

Ever feel like your soul needs to catch up with your body?

Years ago, social commentators declared that technology would free up our time and our lives. We could work from home. No more commute! We could be connected to the world wherever we went. Greater efficiency! We would no longer “waste time” on tedious and repetitious tasks. They anticipated a world of greater flexibility, improved productivity, shorter work weeks, and more free-time.

They were wrong—dead wrong.

Instead, we live at higher speed, with more instantaneous demands upon us, and with raised expectations. Technology has become to many of us what Mountain Dew is to a child with ADHD.


The issue, of course, is not the hand-sized piece of metal and glass that I stuff in my pocket or the tablet that goes everywhere with me. If I put them away, they have no capacity to pursue me (yet). But here’s the question I’m grappling with: Can I slow down my pace sufficiently to once again hear God?

Higher speeds require longer slows. If we’re traveling at 90 miles per hour, an abrupt stop is not possible (nor advisable). But this I know—His voice will not compete with our noise. The richness of His Word in my life is found in seasons of soaking not moments of shock. Our greatest creativity and peace emerge not by accident but from connection—with Him.

Beholding Christ in the shadows is not something that we can do as we roar down the darkened street on our way somewhere else. It requires that we slow to a crawl and peer intently. He does not stand on a street-corner to wave flamboyantly as we zip past. Instead, we find Him quietly among the homeless, alongside the elderly, sitting with the suffering, gently ministering to the afflicted.

If we want to see Him—to “fix our eyes on Jesus” (Hebrews 12:2)—it’ll take some strategic changes for some of us. In some instances those changes will relate to technology. In other cases, it’s a matter of time-management. In every instance, it will require us to slow down ; not just so that our souls can rejoin our bodies, but so that our hearts can rejoin Christ.

Check your speed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Check Your Speed

  1. heide.costa@yahoo.com says:

    Here’s something I appreciated reading today:  Think on This…Hold rather to those things in which, in thy dealings with thy fellowman, ye may see only the pure, the good! For until ye are able to see within the life and activities of those ye have come to hate the most, something ye would worship in thy Creator, ye haven’t begun to think straight. Everything is coming along. I will keep in touch! Happy Angels conquer devils day! Heide

    Sent via BlackBerry from T-Mobile

  2. timriter@aol.com says:

    David,

    This is very good! I’ve attached an essay by Kundera that addresses the same issue.

    Hope all is going well with you, and I hear that WJU is progressing nicely/

    Tim

  3. wtmathes@chartertn.net says:

    Beautiful! Thanks. W. T. Mathes

  4. Mark says:

    Recently I contemplated this very issue, and so now rise at 4 am to spend time with God … Then I rush off into the day ahead. Do you think I got it right? 🙂

  5. Diana Anderson says:

    Always a good word form you, but this was especially timely. Thanks, it’s what I’ve been feeling and striving to articulate.

  6. John thornhill says:

    Helpful insights again David. Thanks
    Why does it take ‘age’ to realise the importance of ‘being still… AND KNOW…?
    The older I get, I think it comes down to, Who/what do I love supremely in my life?
    How much do I really love my Saviour and Redeemer?
    In the measure I understand the work of Calvary… so the measure I love Him.

    In the measure I love Him… so the deeper the desire to spend time with Him in His Word. And thus, the greater desire to be with Christ which is far better… but waiting for His time and thus ‘occupy ’til He come’

  7. Very, very good reminder. I often wonder why phone calls are more important today than say ten years ago. I’m one who thinks if it’s important a message will be on my answering machine when I get home. GOOD WORD.

    • David Timms says:

      Thanks for the reminder, Susan. We CAN wait on some things. One study has shown that the sooner we respond to messages the more inundated we become with triviality. Hmmm. Must. Wait. More.

  8. Dinah says:

    So well spoken! and so,so,true we need to slow down,spend time with God Our Father,in a quite room,no tv/radio on,just you and God.Life is so short to begin with to not spend time talking to Him
    for we never know when we will not be able to spend precious time with him,He’s always there waiting to hear from us.Thank you for sharing.Amen

    • David Timms says:

      Yes, Dinah, there’s an irony in this — a short life is best lived with less in the room, not more. Kingdom ways overturn our human inclinations, again. Thanks for the reminder.

  9. Gerald says:

    Thank you, David for this timely bit of information. I am finding in my life that things are going too quickly to be able to “stop and smell the roses”. Yes, we do need to watch our speed indeed.

  10. Phil McKinley says:

    This morning an old man from my church died. At one point he had been living with his lady friend who also attended church. Like so many these days, they cohabitated because it was financially advantageous. Last spring I went to visit them, and they had a surprising request: “Will you marry us?” they asked. They had been listening to God’s word, and they believed that part about adultery, heaven, and hell. They wanted to obey their Lord. They wanted no walls between them and God. They were married the next day. Simple obedience is the response to a very important message, but Dr. Timms is right. We have to make it a point to listen. Jerald did, and may he rest in peace with his Savior. God bless Verna. To the rest of you, don’t water down the gospel. Somebeody will be listening, and the rewards/consequences are eternal.

  11. David Timms says:

    Phil, thanks for the story. Hearing God is no small thing; obedience to what we hear is even greater.

  12. erinambrose says:

    David,
    Your words really struck a chord with me. As I had to slow down my life recently due to illness I was able to keep time with the Lord so much better. I am challenged now as my days once again speed up to keep my pace steady and my gaze firmly fixed on what is most important. Thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

