Words, Words, Words

It’s easy to lose confidence in words. Wherever we turn, words wait…and force themselves upon us. Everyone’s got something to say or something to write. (Yes, I’m mindful of the irony of stating this in a blog post!)

It seems, as Jacque Ellul once observed, that all we do is chit-chat and rarely say anything meaningful any more. And in such an environment we may well prefer silence. That’s entirely understandable.

But the misuse, abuse, or cheapening of words should not distract us from the truth. As followers of Jesus, we ought to find words utterly compelling.

God created the heavens and the earth with words. He spoke, and things came into being. And still do.

Our words, spoken before God and empowered by God, have the potential to dramatically change someone else’s life; not because we are smart or wise but because the mystery of God still works in words—even awkward and fumbling words—to perform miracles in hearts.

The Bible affirms that the Holy Spirit’s ministry centers around words—words of prophecy, wisdom, knowledge, encouragement, and more. A chief work of the Spirit is to inspire. He inspired the written Word of God, and He continues to inspire our words for God.

We may conclude (wrongly) that words are only meaningful if they come from a wordsmith; that words should be well-crafted and well-stated to have any power. We may decide (wrongly) that uneducated, unpolished, and unsophisticated words lack significance. But those who follow Jesus know otherwise—or should.

The words you speak have the God-potential to shape a life. What will you say today to a child, a student, a spouse, a colleague, a neighbor, or a stranger? The power of the word resides not in our formulation but in the Lord’s empowerment. So, speak.

Speak a word today in obedience to Christ. Speak words to build up, not tear down. Speak…and pray as you do so. And watch what the Spirit of God does both in you and through you.

In a cynical society, words sound cheap. But the Cross can restore our confidence and our commitment to be the voice of God in a world burdened by the cries of men and women. Today, let’s listen, then speak positively and prayerfully.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Words, Words, Words

  1. Suzette Honore says:

    Just beautiful!! Thank you David.

    Suzette M. Honore’
    Office Manager
    State Farm Insurance
    License #0661168
    LSA-5, Notary, Bank Certified
    • Phone 714) 524-0011
    • Fax 714) 524-0017
    • Email suzette.honore.i69f@statefarm.com
    • Address 234 Yorba Linda Boulevard, Placentia, CA 92870
    Enjoy where you are, on the way to where you are going. Joyce Meyer

    .

  2. Hi David, as you know, I am likewise a writer of devotionals and poetry. Solomon writes, “Like apples of gold in settings of silver is a word spoken (written) in right circumstances. Like an earring of gold and an ornament of fine gold is a wise reprover to a listening ear.” (Prov 25:11-12 NASB) What you have said I can testify to be absolutely true. I have read some of my writings to friends and they ‘overwhelmed’ me with their words of grace and thankfulness which has been and continues to be of great encouragement to me. To be sure, it is not me who empowers the words, but God himself. Simply because what I write is His words, not my own. I only arrange them together in such a way that makes sense to those who read them. In these words which I have just written above, I am in no sense bragging but simply giving glory and praise to our Lord Jesus Christ along with my thanks to Him for rescuing me from who I was before He found me. Thank you my friend for the words you write which blesses all our lives!

  3. As usual, my friend, your timing (and God’s) are perfect – I’m teaching on Encouragement this weekend. I’ll quote you, if that’s okay. (I assume it is.) Gee, this is very encouraging….
    Rory Johnston, Canyon Ridge

    • David Timms says:

      Rory, may the Lord give you just the right words as you encourage others this weekend. And I’m still looking for your next manuscript! 🙂

      • David, Just signed (2 days ago) with an agent for my book Dramatic Results. That book came about partly from your offer some years ago to teach a class at Hope on drama ministry and finding a lack of good books on the subject. So, thanks for the encouragement!

      • David Timms says:

        Congratulations! You do great work. I hope many people get hold of it.

  4. Tim Ross says:

    I have been encouraged by many strong followers of Jesus who exuded love in my life. I have seen and felt the power of encouragement. I love to encourage all that I see with the love and grace that flows out of the indwelling Spirit of Christ. The effect on people is marvelous to see.

  5. Tim, As a long-time believer and even when I was teaching in the public forum I weighed my words about Christ, liking sticking my toes into the water to test whether it would be warm and inviting or cold and rejecting. Now that I have stepped away from connection to any organization in self-employment, I am seeking to be more bold. I want my words to make a difference in the lives of others I reach more than I fear their reaction. Thank you for your encouraging and motivating words! I appreciate each blog entry you share.

    • David Timms says:

      Dellena, that’s what I love about following Christ. We write out of obedience to His leading and let the impact rest with Him. We can be at ease whether our words touch one life or a thousand. Blessings as you continue to write.

  6. Johnny Cash walked into Sam Phillips’ studio in Memphis to audition with an original gospel song that sounded like all the others. Mr. Phillips told Johnny to sing something real. Johnny chose a song he had written in the Air Force: “I hear that train a’comin’ – It’s rollin’ round the bend – and I ain’t seen the sunshine since I don’t know when”. The words caught Sam’s attention, not the music. In fact as any guitar player will tell you, Folsom Prison Blues is the easiest of all songs to play. Young players can play it before they actually know how to play. On that day in Memphis, the Tennesse Two did not sell that song. The message sold itself. We need to remember that we have God’s message, a message that will sell itself. We may not always be able to eloquently deliver the message, but the message will sell itself. In fact, God can be glorified in the conviction that comes from a simple delivery of his truth.

  7. John thornhill says:

    Gold fears not the fire… for that which is consumed is only but worthless dross.

  8. erinambrose says:

    David, Thank you for being so encouraging your words in this post. You are right an encouraging word can make all the difference!

Leave a Reply

