Faith & Clarity

In a world of such uncertainty, it’s understandable—understandable that we’d trade with God. “I’ll acknowledge that You exist…and You improve my existence.” We’ve grown convinced that trusting God means gaining the inside track to the future. “We have His favor and He has a plan for us.” Surely He won’t keep it a secret.

For centuries (millennia), men and women have tried to read stars, palms, tea leaves, and crystal balls. We want just a glimpse of the future. We want confidence that things will turn out a certain way—a happy marriage, a quiver full of kids, a great job, a good home purchase, and more.

Little wonder, then, that this penchant for clarity should infect the Church, too. Surely the Maker of all time and space will draw back the curtain just a smidgeon so we can see clearly for a moment. Contrary to Hebrews 11:1, faith comes to mean the conviction of things we have seen. For some reason this “spiritual insider trading” has become not simply acceptable but even desirable; widely taught and happily passed on.   

But faith is not the pathway to clarity; it is the solution to our need for it.

Christ invites us to trust Him with the unknown, not to know the unknown. He welcomes us into a community where clarity matters far less than consistency in the Journey.

While we are busy praying “Show me the way” the Father is busy saying “Trust Me in the Way.” While we fear making a poor decision for lack of information—“Is this the right job to take, school to send our kids to, neighborhood to live in…?”—the Lord beckons us to simply seek rightness with Him and the good of His Kingdom. (Matthew 6:33)

I tend to control what I see or anticipate. I take charge. And such foresight becomes a cancer to the soul.

The questions abound: Will this illness take me or be taken from me? Is my financial hardship short-term or long-term? Should I seek a new job or persist in the one I have? How does God want to use me in leadership?

The uncertainty persists, but the answer holds steady. Faith matters more than clarity. And we can only live such a Way …

Because of Grace

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Faith & Clarity

  1. Debbie Heim says:

    Hi David, I’m so glad to read you again! Thanks for all your efforts and the blessings your writing brings to me! In Christ, Debbie, Mary’s Bible Study Buddy

  2. Jerry D. Robertson says:

    Welcome back David to the online ‘breath of fresh air’ community……..your posts are always a breath of fresh air to me. Thank you so much! Jerry

  3. Janet Sigsworth says:

    Hi David, great to be receiving your ponderings again! I think your blog is very relevant as we live in shaky days with an uncertain future. I wonder what difference it would make to us if we kept thoughts of eternity always in our hearts as the disciples so obviously did. Just a thought 🙂

  4. What a blessing you are! This is the perfect message at the perfect time for me. Thank you for continually letting the Lord work through you to touch the hearts and lives of others.

  5. Jason Nate says:

    Glad to hear from you again Dr. Timms, glad to have this a part of my life. Blessings to you!

  6. Judi Murdoch says:

    I join the others in thanking you for this ministry. Indeed, we operate more faithfully on a ‘need to know’ basis with our Creator and Savior. Being dependant on Him for everything keeps things in the proper persepective… He is mighty God and we are His humble creatures grateful for His grace. (Isaiah 55:8-9)

  7. John Thornhill says:

    You’ve hit the spot again David with clarity, insight and challenge.
    We thank God for your ministry.
    Thanks for the investment of your time in this ministry.

  8. David! So great to hear from you again! Hope all is well with you! As always, you challenged me to my core in this writing. Being a guy who only likes spontenaity as long as it’s carefully planned, i value clarity – at least in the way i define it – much more than i’m willing to admit. I so love being sure! Again, great to hear from you again. I’ve really missed these . . .

  9. Christy Blazin says:

    Amen and Amen David! I’ve been pondering the implications this week of our Covenant God, who beckons us to simply ‘trust and obey’. Your thoughts remind me of how often we want to ‘see and obey’ instead. At core, is ‘me, me, me’, isn’t it? I so long to be past myself and live fully free in focus on ‘Him, Him, Him’. Bless you and yours David!

  10. It is indeed wonderful to once again be a recipient of your writing David. Thank you for sharing with us…this message is very timely for me.Welcome back and thank you.

  11. Tom says:

    First of all, thank you for writing and sharing your thoughts – and for so graciously linking us together again. You Sir, are a blessing to many… and I thank God for you!

    Secondly, your musings on this walk of grace are precisely along the lines of what I have been meditating upon in my current season with the Lord…

    I find that we often try to take the promises of God and turn them into “incantations” or “claim checks” with the Lord. It’s like, “if I say them enough” or “believe them enough” then God magically appears and answers my prayer the way that I think it should be answered. God’s Word then becomes my escape hatch from my pain (when, the truth is, God may be using the pain to draw me closer to Him in relationship, or to help me to grow in godly character and to get rid of my flawed, rough edges that keep Jesus from being seen in me).

    Lately, I have been looking at the promises of God as being those things to change my “inner talk” about life – and to reverse my negative thoughts about “what God thinks of me.” Because the truth is, “God IS for us” and “He will never leave us nor forsake us” – although my flesh cries out against this constantly.

    Then, as I praise God (voicing the meanings of HIs name, or declaring His greatness, or His goodness – or thanking Him for His faithfulness), I sense His peace and presence with me …

    And then… I leave the results with the God of Creation, who can do beyond what I could ask or think (and way outside of my box of expectations or answers) in walking me through this time of need.

    Instead of twisting God’s arm for an answer – now I am waiting with expectation to see God’s fingerprints at work around my life. “What is God doing?” “How will He come to my aid, as I walk with Him through this?” This attitude develops more of a relationship with God as I go through my trials, and becomes a time of stewarding the process of life together.

    Thank you for this article, David. I felt alone in processing these thoughts as others told me, “NO, you got to claim … and proclaim!” And I have said, “No, I’ve got to trust and obey – and look for Him and stay close to His heart daily.”

  12. Chuck Mihlbauer says:

    So glad to be receiving your new posts. I have greatly missed your insight. Thank you for clarity on staying the course. God bless.

    Chuck Mihlbauer

  13. Norm says:

    Great post. I quoted you on FB! 🙂

  14. FredL. Casmir says:

    Hi David —– good to “have you back” and read moe about the changes in your ministry.
    I can remember how ridiculous i must have sounded as a young preacher when people came to share with me their concerns about lacking faith, and the BEST I could do was to “encourage” them to “just have more faith.” We really do not sufficiently consider the reason why faith is among the gifts the Spirit provides.
    Fred

  15. Matt says:

    Great post dad. It strikes me that this is also the key to “being present”, something we need so desperately to be in an increasingly distracted culture. The way of faith is less a life plan as much as it is a moment by moment seeking and following.

  16. Hazel says:

    It’s great to see your name popping up in my inbox again David! thank you for your ministry, it’s precious.

  17. Ron Brewster says:

    Great Post David. Thought provoking and helpful. Thanks for taking the time to articulate your thoughts and share them with all of us.
    Ron

  18. Christine Bailey says:

    Hi David
    Another great word. Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow is the same Lord and Saviour. I trusted him yesterday, I am definitely trusting him completely today as I head into a new challenge at work and I know he is with me in my tomorrows, however they are going to look.

    1 Peter 4:10 As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another as good stewards of the manifold grace of God.

    Thank you for sharing your God gift with us this week.
    Blessings
    Christine

Leave a Reply

